Writing

milky-way-1023340_1920.jpg

I once learned from Elizabeth Gilbert’s podcast Magic Lessons a trick to get writing done. Set a specific amount of time to write, say an hour, and tell yourself that for that set amount of time you will only write. For all you writers out there this has been one of the best writing tips that I’ve ever received. I cannot tell you how many days I can go without writing.

So today I set a timer for 1 hour, and after a few minutes I still hadn’t written anything on the page because I was thinking about what to write about. Then I wrote this:

I don’t know what to write.

I want to write a poem.

I don’t know where to start.

I want to write about…

but at the same time I don’t want to right about it.

 

And then I wrote this:

 

My deepest secret right now

 

And magic happened. I wrote an incomplete draft of a poem with lines that I absolutely hate and with lines that I love. I was so into the writing process that I was startled when the timer went off.

 

Leave a Reply

